Tags

, , , ,

Howdy-Doo!  Today I tried my hand at a new technique….a box card.  I really enjoyed making this.  A lot of steps but fun non-the-less.

First Birthday Box Card

First Birthday Box Card

There are quite a few YouTube tutorials on how to create one of these.  I watched a few of them and got some helpful tips from each one.  My very favorite one is by another Close To My Heart consultant Katherine Skipper.  The link to her tutorial will be at the end of this post.  I also follow another terrific Close To My Heart consultant from New Zealand that happened to post a tutorial on how to make a Box Envelope…Perfect combo!  The link to Patricia’s blog and tutorial will be at the end of this post as well.

All the fun birthday cutouts popping up out of the card

All the fun birthday cutouts popping up out of the card were fussy cut.

I used October Afternoon Cakewalk line.  I fussy cut the icons that are popping up out of the center of the card.  Please click on the links at the end of this post for step by step instructions, and then try your hand at this fun and unique card.  It can easily be adapted to any theme.  I would love to hear how they turned out!

Here are a few more pictures from different stages and angles.

View of card closed.  Finished size in 6x6.

View of card closed. Finished size in 6×6.

Banner cut from Cakewalk banner print.

Banner cut from Cakewalk banner print.

Back of card - you can write your sentiment here.

Back of card – you can write your sentiment here. 

I colored the paper strip “candle” with embossing ink, sprinkled with fine embossing powder and heat set it to get a “waxy” look.  I used an orange ShinHan alcohol marker to color a clear crystal teardrop gem to use as the flame.

Card Tutorial here…    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1qAcqp2Iw8

Envelope Tutorial here…    https://patriciamanhire.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/box-envelope-card-tutorial/

Please, if you do not already follow our blog, then click on the link to the left and Like us on Facebook, so you don’t miss a thing!

Thanks for stopping by and happy scrapping!

