Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Greetings friends.  Today’s post is a bit more serious.  I have had to make quite a few sympathy cards lately, and I am sure I am not the only one that feels these are by far the most difficult to create.  Never-the-less it must be done.  I have a go-to set of items  for just this occasion, and those are; a Tim Holtz stamp set (Stampers Anonymous – Nature’s Moments), Close To My Heart – Big Hug and Distress stains or markers.

Ingredients for the sympathy cards.

Ingredients for the sympathy cards.

I applied the stain a little differently this time.  I took the Squeezed Lemonade and rolled it directly onto the watercolor paper.  I randomly covered about 75% of the paper.  Next I applied the Milled Lavender to the paper, covering about half randomly, some overlapping the yellow, some on bare paper.  The last stain I added was Weathered Wood and I randomly added this to half the paper, filling in any bare spots and overlapping both the yellow and the lavender in a few spots.  Finally I took a small paint brush and dipped it into my Heidi Swapp Chartreuse Color Shine (it has some metallic properties to it that give it a bit of a shimmer).  I flicked the paint brush to create a random splatter of tiny drops.  I have to confess, all my Color Shines are clogged and won’t spritz directly from the container anymore 😦 so my next project is to research how to get these babies working again!

Once the stain and paints dry I added the seeding dandelion stamp using Memento Tuxedo Black ink and stamping it twice per inking to get the faded plants that look like they are in the background.

Sympathy Cards

Sympathy Cards

Cry. Laugh. Remember.

Cry. Laugh. Remember.

Peace in your memories

Peace in your memories

Finally, I mounted them on black card stock, added a length of twine and topped them off with the mounted sentiment that is embossed and popped up with foam squares.  Unfortunately, the embossing doesn’t show up in the pictures.

These are simple and this style can be adapted to any occasion, just by switching up the colors and stamps.

Thank you for stopping by and please click the button on the left to follow our blog and Like us on Facebook, so you don’t miss a thing.

Happy Scrapping!

