Tags

,

Welcome Card for Nelly

Welcome Card for Nelly

Hi Loves!  The title of this weeks post is paying homage to The Beatles and their many words of wisdom.  This time of year brings to mind all of our loves…Significant others, family, and pets.  Recently a dear friend of mine told me all about an animal rescue she is involved with and how they were going down to a Kentucky shelter and bringing back a transport full of pups that were in desperate need of some TLC and hopefully find their forever homes.  There was one poor female pup that had not been spoken for and was scheduled to be euthanized at the Kentucky shelter before the end of the month.  She had such sad soulful eyes, as if she knew her fate.  Needless to say my friend could not just sit by without sponsoring this loving little gal, so she made sure Nelly got a spot on the transport.  My family has rescued pups before and I know they like to have an object of comfort or security so I headed off to my craft room to make a blanket for Nelly.  Oh and of course I made a card to welcome her home 🙂

First Stage of Blanket Assembly

First Stage of Blanket Assembly

I took a five foot length of fleece, I cut it in half lengthwise (it was 54″ wide, so each piece was 60″ x 27″.  Next you line the two pieces up with wrong ends facing in.  Then you cut a 4″ square out of each corner and cut 1″ wide slits, 4″ deep, all the way around the blanket.

Second Stage of Blanket Assembly

Second Stage of Blanket Assembly

Then you tie each pair of slits together in a double knot.  Do not make the knots too tight or it will pucker the blanket.

The reverse side pattern is paying homage to Nelly's Kitty siblings in her new home.

The reverse side pattern is paying homage to Nelly’s Kitty siblings in her new home.

Nelly is such a loving, well-behaved girl!

Nelly is such a loving, well behaved girl!

Welcome card for Nelly

Welcome card for Nelly

I made this using my new eBosser my daughter gave me for Christmas!

Inside sentiment in the card…Just love Dr. Seuss!

Inside sentiment in the card…Just love Dr. Seuss!

Little details

Little details

So, all they need is love.  Check out Starfish’s website, who knows, maybe you will find someone to love.  http://www.starfishanimalrescue.com Please click on the button on the left to follow our blog and like us on Facebook…You don’t want to miss a thing! We will be featuring Valentines over the next couple of weeks, so stop by often! Happy Scrapping!

