Tags

, , , ,

Salutations….We all have De Stress, and we all like to De Stress, and well this week is all about…you guessed it…Distress!

I have a couple of techniques to share with you for this one.  I have a vintage typewriter stamp set, complete with “type written” greetings.  This will be the April 2015 Stamp of the Month, but as a consultant for Close To My Heart, I was able to order it early.

I have a friend who was kind enough to place a large order for CTMH and she is so excited for April to come because she LOVES this stamp set.  I though it would be nice to make her thank you card using it.   Here are the pictures of the stamp set and card. I have also outlined the new techniques I used to achieve this look.

April 2015 Stamp Set of the Month

April 2015 Stamp Set of the Month

Completed Card

Completed Card

Close up of vintage postal wash and staple added.

Close up of vintage postal washi and staple added.

To give the card that distressed “washed” appearance you need watercolor paper, two or three distress pads, inks or stains (I used Walnut Stain and Scattered Straw and Wild Honey ink pads) transfer a small amount of each on a craft mat, spritz with a little water and run the watercolor paper around in the wet colors.  I do several pieces at once so I have them on hand for other projects.  Be sure to let the paper dry completely before moving onto the next step.

Watercolor paper dipped in distress inks, stamped and embossing powder added.

Watercolor paper dipped in distress inks, stamped with clear embossing ink and black embossing powder added.

Bottom torn embossed and note added.

Bottom torn, embossed and note added.

Next I stamped the typewriter image with Distress Embossing Ink, it is a clear ink that stays nice and wet so you can add embossing powder in a color of choice.  I used shiny black.  Now to achieve the weathered look on the typewriter I only wanted the outline to emboss, so I had to “overheat” the center portion, both from above and underneath. The only thing to be cautious of is it gets super hot and you don’t want to scorch the paper.  Mine started smoking….so I thought it was time to stop.  HA!

Close up of distressed embossing technique.

Close up of distressed embossing technique.

So try one or both of these techniques soon.  Happy scrapping!!!

 

