Tags

, , ,

Now that Summer is in full swing I thought it would be appropriate to pull out some pool pics.  I found one of my favorites with my daughter and niece, two of the most beautiful girls in the world.  With that being said, the title was obvious….WATER BABES I began with sketch #118 from Sketchabilities website, then I picked out my papers which included two patterns, yellow vellum, a plain light blue base sheet and an 8-1/2×11 sheet of white.  I took out my Mister Huey’s Bubbles mask, Tim Holtz Tumbled Glass Distress Ink and Mister Huey’s Color Mist in Splash.  I held the mask down with a couple of tiny pieces of Washi tape so it didn’t move around on me and I sponged the Distress Ink randomly in a diagonal pattern.  Once I lifted up the mask I spritzed the paper with the Color Mist.  I set that aside while I trimmed up my papers and rounded the corners.  The paper with the pool gear pattern was cut to give me 2 – 6×6 squares, the other pattern piece was cut in a 4×4 as well as the vellum and the photo.  The photo mat was cut with a contrasting background 1/4 inch larger all around.  I found a tag from K&Co that had a blue and aqua watery looking background with lobsters and it was the orange-red of the lobster that I matched both the photo mat and the Thickers “BABES” to. The letters that make up the word WATER are called Curly White by Glitz & Glitter.  I made a small banner for the bottom left corner for their names.  I added a tab to the photo mat with the year and I punched various sizes of circles to keep with the “bubble” motif.  I added some wood veneers, one of which I rubbed with the Distress Ink and stamped a swirl in the center.  Finally adding a brad with a “Hello Sunshine” flag and rubbed the remaining veneers with Doodlebug inks to pull out more of the orange and yellow in the layout. Below are a few pictures of the steps and the final layout.  Oh, I almost forgot….I am super picky about my letters in titles, so I included a picture of how I use a magnetic ruler and wax paper to line them up prior to placing them on the page.  A little trick I learned along the way. Thanks for stopping by, have a wonderful week!

Water Babes

Water Babes

What I used to create the background.

What I used to create the background

Materials used to decorate one of the wood veneers

Materials used to decorate one of the wood veneers

Trick I use to layout letters

Trick I use to layout letters

